Captains to Score a Fifty in an IPL Final

Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed captains leading from the front with mesmerizing batting performances. Be it MS Dhoni or Rohit Sharma, captains have played a massive role with the bat in IPL over the years. This blog lists captains who have scored a half-century in an IPL final. Cricket enthusiasts have always backed players like MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, etc., to come good in an IPL final. In a few instances, they have won exciting rewards by placing bets on these players on an online cricket betting site.

Captains Who Have Scored 50+ Score in an IPL Final

Captains are those players who feel the most pressure in an IPL final. Some thrive, while others succumb to it. Those who deliver a big performance make a difference for their team and bring delight to bettors who back them in an IPL betting site during the major T20 event. Here are the list of captains who have registered a 50+ score in an IPL final:

MS Dhoni – 63* (IPL 2013)

MS Dhoni is the first captain to hit a half-century in an IPL final. However, it came on a losing cause as Chennai Super Kings (CSK) fell short of 23 runs against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the IPL 2013 final. Chasing 149 at Eden Gardens, CSK saw themselves reeling at 58/8. An unbeaten 63 from Dhoni saw CSK give a decent fight.

Rohit Sharma – 50 (IPL 2015)

Rohit Sharma played a quickfire half-century in the IPL 2015 final. Batting at No. 3, the ‘Hitman’ went after the CSK bowlers in the powerplay. He reached his half-century in just 25 balls and laid the foundation for a big score. The MI captain scored 36 of his 50 runs in fours and sixes. MI made 202 in their 20 overs. CSK failed to chase down the big total.

David Warner – 69 (IPL 2016)

David Warner set the tone in the IPL 2016 with a dazzling 69. The Aussie hit eight fours and three sixes as SRH made 208 in their 20 overs against RCB at Chinnaswamy Stadium. It is the highest score by a captain in an IPL final. Warner also lifted the trophy after RCB fell short by eight runs.

Virat Kohli – 54 (IPL 2016)

In the 2016 final, Warner was not the only captain who played a crucial knock with the bat. RCB captain Virat Kohli stitched together a 100-run stand with Chris Gayle. The Indian batter made 54 off 35 balls, striking five fours and two sixes. However, his knock was in vain as RCB, chasing 209, lost the final by eight runs.

Steve Smith – 51 (2017)

Steve Smith scored a valiant 51 against Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2017 final. Chasing a moderate total of 130, Rising Pune Supergiant lost Rahul Tripathi early. However, Ajinkya Rahane and Smith set up a 54-run stand. The Pune-based franchise’s captain completed his fifty before being dismissed by fellow Aussie Mitchell Johnson. However, Rising Pune Supergiants suffered a one-run defeat.

Shreyas Iyer – 65* (2020)

Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer came to his team’s aid after being reduced to 3/22 in 3.3 overs after batting first in the IPL 2020 final against Mumbai Indians. The Indian batter made an unbeaten 65, an innings which included six fours and two sixes. Rishabh Pant also scored a fifty. It propelled the Capitals to 156, which Mumbai Indians chased down with eight balls to spare.

Rohit Sharma – 68 (2020)

Rohit Sharma led from the front when Mumbai Indians took on Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2020 final. The Mumbai outfit needed to chase down 157 to lift a fifth IPL trophy. Rohit was on song and took on the Capitals bowlers early. He brought up his fifty in 35 balls and ensured his team was in a comfortable position when he was dismissed on 68. Mumbai Indians sealed a five-wicket win, and Rohit lifted a record fifth IPL trophy in Dubai.

Furqan Mughal

The Viral Times stands as a comprehensive platform dedicated to delivering a wide array of news encompassing the latest developments in technology, business, sports, education, gaming, fashion, cryptocurrency, and other trending topics online. If you're interested in sharing your articles on our website, we welcome your contributions. Please reach out to us at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button